Why movement?

9 06 2011

To me, movement is what it’s all about.

You might call it an epiphany, because I didn’t always know that movement was what defined me. The light-bulb moment came not when I was staring up into the clouds, philosophising about life. It came when I was watching the movie Limitless. Eddie, the main character, had just taken a top secret drug which unlocks the brain’s hidden powers. He is bursting with energy and has the urge to move. As he put it, he had to move, “to ingest, to digest”.

It's thanks to this guy that I realised movement was it.

That was when it hit me. I have a constant urge to keep moving, because it allows me to absorb the world around me, to continually ingest and digest new forms of stimuli. It keeps me on my toes, alert, and most importantly of all, excited.

To move is to develop, change, pursue as well as to explore, experiment, to seek understanding and meaning. To be static is to be stagnant, to lack the drive to push forwards.

But what exactly does ‘movement’ entail? I first thought that it was only a physical action: running, swimming, biking, hiking, traveling – all my favourite sports. Upon further reflection, though, I realised that movement can also take on a psychological, intellectual, artistic and even spiritual form.

Photography is a form of movement: despite the photo being a still, it is in essence a capture of movement and light. Music is also movement, because the interaction of different wavelengths and frequencies ultimately come together to create movement. Poetry moves, because words and phrases dance on the page to create meaning. The list goes on, and it is my hope that this blog grows and develops, I will encounter many more forms of movement.

For now, I’m going to keep moving.

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 06 2011
Benson Chiu

Excellent ! Apart from keep moving, will you also think about still. In Chinese, “Movement” is usually followed by “Still” which call 動静. Idiom 動静眥宜 or 靜若處子, 動若脫兔 are typical examples. If you always keep moving, you don’t have time to think or analyze. Think before you move. To me, move just a means, think is the goal. If you can’t define your goal first, your move may go to a wrong way. Benson

9 06 2011
marykmhui

Thanks for your very thought provoking comment, I hadn’t thought about it that way yet. I don’t quite agree with you on one point – you seem to think that moving is not very compatible with thinking and analysing. My take on it is that I move in order to think. I can’t think when sitting still. I need to be moving – walking, perhaps – in order to observe, reflect and think. In this sense, moving is my way of defining my goal because I need to figure out dynamically what it is that I need to move towards. I’ll definitely explore the movement vs. stillness concept in one of my next posts.

9 06 2011
Benson Chiu

You quite concern the form of “Move” and “Still”. It can be 心靜 but the body is still moving.

9 06 2011
Pearl Lee

Hi Mary,

Congratulations on your new initiative ~ it was a pleasure to read your blog & to share your great momentum. I feel privileged to be invited to understand you a little bit better.

I absolutely enjoyed your high-quality photos & writing. I have to admit while reading your blog, I had the same feeling as your Uncle Benson ~ while movement is great, striking balance may be the next level worthy of your deeper thought. I sure hope we’re not spoiling your fun though, ’cause your blog is really exemplary!

Looking forward to reading your next blog!

Auntie Pearl

9 06 2011
Martin Hui

I hope in our forthcoming trip to Holland and Norway, we do not need to keep moving every minutes. Dad and mom are getting old and do not have sufficient energy to be on the road, on the bike, or hiking all the time.

In planning itinerary of the trip, pls ensure we have time to “hea” or even a small lazy nap in between meals.

Last but not the least, congratulate to your well presented blog with photos and interesting words.

5 12 2012
Movement, Balance & The Art of Being Still « myMOVEMENTS

[…] We must ingest and digest simultaneously, as Eddie from the movie Limitless put it, and as I explained here.  […]

Leave a Reply

