6 Ways to Make Sure I’m Always Learning

11 06 2011

I love learning. More precisely, I love the feeling of movement that comes with learning. It’s a tantalising sensation of moving forwards, keeping up with the changing world around me. At the same time, though, there’s also a complementary feeling of stillness. It’s a priceless sensation.

To make sure I’m constantly learning, constantly moving in the intellectual sense, I use the following methods:

  • Twitter and RSS feeds: I’m always looking for interesting people with interesting things to say on Twitter. 
  • iPhone Apps: For reading the news, I primarily use the New York Times and BBC World News application. The Economist app is also great because it comes with downloadable audio recordings. ReadItLater and Instapaper are also great for storing articles for offline reading, so that I’m always learning, even while on the go.
  • Podcasts and iTunes U: These are great for those moments when you don’t quite feel like reading, but don’t want to stare blankly into space either. When I’m really on the go, I switch seamlessly between reading (say, while on the train) and listening to my podcasts/lectures when reading isn’t so feasible (like walking to the next train platform).
  • Reading: I try to have a book with me whenever I can and fill all my ‘gap times’ in the day by reading. Scott H Young has a good post here on how to read more books in a year.
  • Writing: I like to keep a small notebook, not for mundane recounts of what I had for breakfast but rather for all my thoughts and reflections. Writing makes me reflect and enjoy the stillness.
  • Not learning: Yep. Sometimes just staring into space, or as I do multiple times a day, going into ‘the zone’ while running/swimming/biking. At these moments my mind will be completely blank and relishing the calmness, getting ready for more learning!

So there you have it – my ways of constantly learning and educating myself.

Subscribe to this blog via RSS, or enter your email in the email subscription box above. You can also follow me on Twitter to receive regular updates.

Comments are most welcome!

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 06 2011
Benson Chiu

Will you consider mentoring?

12 06 2011
marykmhui

Do you mean mentoring as a way to constantly learn?

14 06 2011
Benson Chiu

Find a mentor who willing to give you guidance and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

