Training for the 2XTRI Triathlon

25 06 2011

I’ve just signed up for the 2XTRI Double Triathlon – a triathlon which, as the name implies, is double that of regular triathlons: (300m swim + 12k bike + 3k run) x 2!

Hm. Double the distance. Double the effort. Double the pain. But, double the movement and hence, double the love! I’m excited.

To kick start my training, this is today’s training:

Morning session:

Afternoon session:

  • 1.5km run to the swimming pool
  • Pyramid swimming: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 lengths (25m pool)
  • 300m freestyle kick
  • 200m single armed freestyle drill
  • 300m freestyle pull
  • 100m breaststroke, 100m backstroke cooldown
  • 1.5km run back home

2XTRI here I come!

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 06 2011
Martin Hui

You are triathlon-manic!

26 06 2011
Jing Hu

Hmmm.. don’t you need like rest days to rebuild your muscles?
Your knees have soft tissue which tends to have hard time to heal. If you run too much you’ll get infured there. Just FYI. from a nursing student. 🙂

27 06 2011
marykmhui

Yes, I work in some rest days into my routine and I also balance my training out between running, swimming, biking and muay thai. I would say technique work/drills has been really important too in helping me prevent injuries.

Leave a Reply

