Sprinting through the dark streets of HK

17 07 2011

Go! (I'm on the first row, 2nd from left)

10pm on a Sunday night. HK is a night owl – it’s alive, vibrant. Shoppers waltz around. Couples walk hand in hand. Flashy cars cruise on the roads….And a group of runners, sprinting through the crowded streets of HK.

I’ve just come back from the Nike Lunar Run race – a 5km run weaving through the heart of one of Hong Kong’s busiest shopping districts, Causeway Bay.  I got the pacing just right – fast, pushing the limits, but not over doing it and finishing with a strong sprint in 20:33. (My 1km time felt faster than this though…perhaps the route was a little more than 5km.)

It was humid though. After running in the crisp air of Norway, tonight felt extremely hot and sticky. It didn’t help that we were running next to some major roads either – at one point I just had to give my chest a humongous whack!

Happily sprinting past the finish line!

Coming first in the women’s category and with only 5 men in front of me, I’ve now made it to the next round – an 8k run this time. And if I win that…it’s a trip to either the San Francisco or Chicago Marathon for me!

Still smiling...super happy!

Stretching it out...

For now, it’s time to go get a some zzz’s in my 2XU compression tights.

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 07 2011
Anna

OMG, dude, Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ga yau!!!

18 07 2011
marykmhui

Thanks Anna!

19 07 2011
Pearl Lee

Congrats, Mary!

20 07 2011
marykmhui

Thank you!

20 07 2011
Benny CHIU

Congratulation Mary. Wish you can make it, either the San Francisco or Chicago Marathon! work and train harder.

I only can sprint for 100M or less now. Haha!!

30 07 2011
When Nike’s ‘Just Do It’ Goes Wrong. « myMOVEMENTS

[…] (You can read my previous post on the first round of the Nike Lunar Run here.) […]

Leave a Reply

