Back from 2XTRI…

28 08 2011

Having completed my very first public triathlon today – the 2XTRi Double Triathlon – I think I can now officially say that I’ve been bitten by the tri-bug.

I can’t think of a better first triathlon to do than today’s super hot, super hard, but super rewarding triathlon out at Science Park. I had never done an open triathlon before, so the idea of doing a double triathlon was rather daunting to say the least. Luckily, though, all the training from this summer has paid off.

The Swim

Tolo Harbour didn’t taste as bad as I thought it would, and the swim went by much faster and with less effort than I had expected it to. No one swam on top of me, I wasn’t kicked in the ribs or whacked in the face, and actually managed to stay near the middle of the pack – great! Looks like none of the summer swimming sessions has gone to waste.

The Bike

Oh. The Bike – my bike. Try as I might, my bike – weighing a tonne – just wouldn’t go. I would push down hard on the pedals, hoping to tuck in behind someone and draft behind them, but all these bikers would just zoom by, leaving me battling the wind head on, alone. It felt like racing against Ferrari’s with an old rickety truck. The 12km bike sections were definitely the most painful.

The Run

Whee! My perennial favourite. Off the bike, off I go! My legs, surprisingly, didn’t feel like jelly encased in lead, as some triathletes would describe the transition. It was definitely hard to pick up the pace at first as you switch between two complete different muscles, but after jogging off the stiffness, the run went very smoothly. I overtook quite a few fellow competitors on the run (but then lost the lead on the bike leg again…).

Results

Didn’t quite do a podium finish, but I’m very happy with the whole race. Just the thought that I’ve done a double triathlon as my first excites me! Excellent movement, excellent fun…I feel like my own champion, as we always should.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 08 2011
Jhun Salipande

I am also a MTB cyclist and has already experienced uphill cycling consistently, but I never experience engaging in triathlon. Of course, I know how to swim. I used to run more than 10 kms. My aspirations in running stopped when I shifted my attention to cycling. I have traveled more 200 kms. of mountainous roads.

I appreciate that you are very interested in triathlon despite being a woman. I will come to that in some other time when I have already practiced these 3 events of triathlon. Thanks and God bless.

30 08 2011
Erich Felbabel

‘I appreciate that you are very interested in triathlon despite being a woman’ >>> what is that kind of comment!???

14 09 2011
Jhun Salipande

Thanks for your comment . God bless you always. I am sorry for any unsavory statements I made.

Leave a Reply

