Capturing Life.

29 01 2012

A Man on the Street (click for better quality). Focused oblivion. My favourite photograph of the week - hopefully there will be more successful street photos to come!

Quite simply, street photography has an irresistible allure.

The excitement, anticipation, unpredictability.

The prospect of observing everything around you and documenting snippets of action here and there. The idea of looking for a story and telling it with the powerful visual medium we call photography.

The concept that life flows all around us at any given second, and that the mere click of a shutter – timed correctly (if you can call it that), framed skillfully, composed perceptively – can capture it.

Using some of my red pocket money collected over this Chinese New Year and a generous  sponsorship from my Dad , I went out to Wanchai today and bought myself a long-coveted Nikon 35mm f1.8G prime lens. I expect to use it a lot in my coming street-photography adventures!

I also just stumbled across a video titled ‘How We Do STREET PHOTOGRAPHY in Hong Kong’ – it’s absolutely inspiring, thoroughly informative and very encouraging. I think it’s safe to say that I may just be falling in love with it. In fact, there are about 14 more such videos that I have yet to watch. Exciting stuff!

Actions

Information

One response

9 02 2012
Homepage

… [Trackback]…

[…] Read More: mymovements.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/capturing-life/ […]…

Leave a Reply

