The Next Challenge

17 04 2012

20120417-172737.jpg

In less than 24 hours I will be traveling to China to represent Hong Kong in the All China Junior Athletics Championships, held in Changzhou, Jiangsu this year. This will be my first time to run at a national level – the first time to run for Hong Kong. It will also be the first time to race outside of Hong Kong, and the second time I run the 3000m steeplechase (I ran it for the first time less than 3 weeks ago).Yes, that’s definitely a lot of ‘firsts’!

Naturally, I’m feeling an exhilarating concoction of excitement, anticipation, nervousness and a tinge of something which I can’t quite put my finger on. It’s a mixture of pride, of wanting to rise to a challenge, of wanting to excel and be my own champion. Is there a word for that? Maybe not – but I’ll let you know when I find it.

Like I said, this will be my second time ever to run the 3000m steeplechase. My expectations for the race, therefore, have to be realistic. I’ll be running against Chinese runners – that in itself is already intimidating enough. But add to that the fact that they will probably all have already run the event many times before, and the intimidating, daunting feeling multiplies! What I’ll be aiming for is to gain valuable experience, to perform my personal best, to push myself, to realise new potentials. Concretely, I would like to finish in or under 12 minutes.

Achievable? I think so.

‘It’s not how good you are, it’s how good you want to be’ – that’s how I’ll be going into the race!

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 04 2012
Paul Lau

Best of luck. Keep us updated on how it goes!

17 04 2012
marykmhui

Thanks Paul!

18 04 2012
The girl next door ;)

You are amazing and I know you will give it your all.
Good luck Mary! I will be supporting your every stride from Hong Kong.

“To be a champion, fight one more round” remember that quote.

23 04 2012
marykmhui

Thanks the girl next door!!

25 04 2012
If they can run, so can I. « myMOVEMENTS

[…] me from doing the same. All I have to do is train hard and train smart. I’ve completed the challenge of representing HK and running my first ever national-level race. The next challenge now is running […]

Leave a Reply

